Inspector Adam Dalgliesh COMPLETE Collection

Inspector Adam Dalgliesh COMPLETE Collection

Adam Dalgliesh is a fictional character who has been the protagonist of fourteen mystery novels by P. D. James. Dalgliesh first appeared in James’s 1962 novel Cover Her Face and has appeared in a number of subsequent novels.
Dalgliesh holds the rank of Commander in the Metropolitan Police Service at New Scotland Yard in London, although he is introduced in Cover Her Face, as a Detective Chief Inspector. He is an intensely cerebral and private person. He writes poetry, a fact about which his colleagues are fond of reminding him. Several volumes of his poetry have been published. Dalgliesh lives in a flat above the Thames at Queenhithe in the City of London and drives a Jaguar. He was described as being "tall, dark and handsome" by some women, alluding to Mr. Darcy from Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice.
His father was the rector of a Norfolk country parish. His sole family relation was his aunt, Jane Dalgliesh, whom he held in high esteem. After her death, Dalgliesh inherits, among other bequests, a converted windmill located on the Norfolk coast. Dalgliesh rose within the ranks of Scotland Yard from Constable to Commander. In his lengthy career, he has been quite astute and successful and now heads a squad of CID officers working on only the most sensitive cases.
Dalgliesh is a widower. He lost his wife in childbirth many years ago and was reluctant to commit himself ever since. His relationship with Deborah Riscoe ended because of this. During his time at St. Anselm’s in Suffolk, he meets Cambridge lecturer Emma Lavenham and later asks her to marry him. The wedding takes place at the end of The Private Patient, published in 2008.
Dalgliesh is a late example of the gentleman detective, a staple of British detective fiction. A number of parallels may be drawn between Dalgliesh and another contemporary fictional detective, Inspector Morse.

Death of an Expert Witness (1983 TV Mini-Series)

Shroud for a Nightingale (1984 TV Mini-Series)

Cover Her Face (1985 TV Mini-Series)

The Black Tower (1985 TV Mini-Series)

A Taste for Death (1988 TV Mini-Series)

Devices and Desires (1991 TV Mini-Series)

Unnatural Causes (1993 TV)

A Mind to Murder (1995 TV)

Original Sin (1997 TV Mini-Series)

A Certain Justice (1998 TV Mini-Series)

Death in Holy Orders (2003 TV Mini-Series)

The Murder Room (2004 TV Mini-Series)

Leave a Reply